
2015-2016 WV Real Estate Appraiser License Renewal Instructions – New Rule Changes  

Pursuant to West Virginia Code §30-38-11 and Legislative Rule §190-3-3, complete applications for license renewal, 
along with the proper license fee and required continuing education, must be received by the Board 30 days prior to 
September 30th. Applications must be postmarked by August 31, 2015. Applications postmarked after August 31st, or 
received by the Board after August 31, 2015 and without postmark showing date, shall not be processed unless 
accompanied by a delinquent fee of $100 and will be considered delinquent. 

The Board will not accept license renewal applications delivered, or mailed, to the Board’s office. Renewal applications 
must be mailed to: West Virginia Real Estate Appraiser Board, P.O. Box 40267, Charleston, WV 25364.  Failure to do so 
will result in your application being returned and creating a delay with issuing your license or permit, which could result in a 
delinquent fee. 

Continuing Education – UPDATED INFO (W.Va. Code R. §190-3-4): 

 With the exception of the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course, which can be taken each year, licensees must 
wait three (3) years before retaking a course or seminar on the same topic.  

 Licensees shall complete the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course every two (2) years. If on your renewal 
application you see, “USPAP DUE:  2015,” you must attach a copy of a certificate indicating you have taken a 
Board approved 7-hour National USPAP Update Course, or its approved equivalent.  

 The 15-hour National USPAP Course is for Qualifying Education only and cannot be used for continuing education.  

 All education (on-line or classroom) must be Board-approved.  All approved education is listed on the Board’s 
website at www.appraiserboard.wv.gov. 

 The 3-hour W.Va. Law Course is required for all active apprentices and appraisers this licensing cycle, in addition 
to the 14 hours of continuing education. The W.Va. Law Course is required every four (4) years.  

 Course instructors may be granted seven (7) hours of continuing education for teaching Board-approved courses. 

 Licensees on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States may be placed on active status by the Board 
after returning from qualified deployment outside the State of West Virginia for a period of ninety (90) days 
pending completion of all continuing education requirements. 

Inactive Status – NEW for 2015-2016 (W.Va. Code R.  §190-2-12) 

 If renewing as inactive, you must submit a Request for Inactive Status (enclosed), in addition to the Renewal form. 

 Effective January 1, 2015 a licensed or certified appraiser may remain on inactive status for no more than five (5) 
years.  

To insure your application will not be returned, have you: 

 Verified and updated all information on the application and made corrections as necessary? 

 Attached a 2 x 2 photograph taken within the last 12 months to the application – taped securely? 

 Answered all questions completely and truthfully on the application? 

 Attached documentation if responding “yes” to any questions.  

 Attached certificates of completion (copies accepted) for 14 hours of Board approved continuing education and 3-
hour W.Va. Law Course? 

 Attached a Supervisor Oath and Affidavit for all supervisors (available on website), if you are an Apprentice?  

 Signed and dated your application? 

 Enclosed a check or money order made payable to WVAB for your license or permit fee, including delinquent fee 
if applicable? 

 Addressed the envelope to the correct address - P.O. Box 40267, Charleston, WV 25364? 

Duplicate Renewal Forms:  

 Lost renewal form? To obtain a duplicate renewal application, submit Duplicate License Pocket Card Request Form, 
along with a check or money order in the amount of $25.00.     

 

All current (2014-15) licenses and permits expire September 30, 2015 

 

http://www.appraiserboard.wv.gov/


 

    

 


