
2016-2017 WV Real Estate Appraiser License Renewal Instructions  
 

The Board is pleased to announce the option of on-line renewals for the 2016-2017 licensing 
year. On-line renewals will be available August 1, 2016 through July 15, 2017.  For those who 
want to renew online, please read the below instructions, then renew your license at, 
https://apps.wv.gov/AS/RealEstate 
 
For those who do not wish to renew on-line, please visit the Board’s website to download a 
renewal form. Click on “Forms” from the home page http://www.appraiserboard.wv.gov  where 
you will find the 2016-2017 Renewal Application and Request for Inactive Status (if needed) 
under “Appraiser Forms.” http://www.appraiserboard.wv.govhttp://www.appraiserboard.wv.gov 

 
Pursuant to West Virginia Code §30-38-11 and Legislative Rule §190-3-3, complete applications 
for license renewal, along with the proper license fee and required continuing education, must be 
received by the Board 30 days prior to September 30th. Applications must be postmarked by 
August 31, 2016. Applications postmarked after August 31st, or received by the Board after August 
31, 2016 and without postmark showing date will be considered delinquent and shall not be 
processed unless accompanied by a delinquent fee of $100. 
 
The Board will not accept license renewal applications delivered, or mailed, to the Board’s office. 
Renewal applications must be mailed to: West Virginia Real Estate Appraiser Board, P.O. Box 
40267, Charleston, WV 25364.  Failure to do so will result in your application being returned and 
creating a delay with issuing your license or permit, which could result in a delinquent fee. 
 
Fees: 

 Apprentice Permit:         $190 

 Licensed Residential Appraiser(includes $40 ASC Federal Registry Fee)  $305 

 Certified Residential Appraiser(includes $40 ASC Federal Registry Fee)  $355 

 Certified General Appraiser (includes $40 ASC Federal Registry Fee)  $505 

 Inactive Appraiser License        $150 

 Delinquent Fee (For applications postmarked after August 31st)   $100 
 
Continuing Education: 

 With the exception of the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course, which can be taken 
each year, licensees must wait three (3) years before retaking a course or seminar on the 
same topic.  

 Licensees shall complete the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course every two (2) years. 
The 15-hour National USPAP Course is for Qualifying Education only and cannot be used 
for continuing education.  

 All education (on-line or classroom) must be Board-approved.  All approved education is 
listed on the Board’s website at http://www.appraiserboard.wv.gov 

 All continuing education may be taken on-line. 

 The 3-hour W.Va. Law Course is required for all active apprentices and appraisers and is 
required every four (4) years beginning in 2015, in addition to the 14 hours of continuing 
education.  

 Course instructors may be granted seven (7) hours of continuing education for teaching 
Board-approved courses. 

 Licensees on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States may be placed on 
active status by the Board after returning from qualified deployment outside the State of 
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West Virginia for a period of ninety (90) days pending completion of all continuing 
education requirements. 

 
Inactive Status – Effective January 1, 2015 (W.Va. Code R.  §190-2-12) 

 If renewing as inactive, you must submit a Request for Inactive Status, in addition to your 
Renewal. 

 Effective January 1, 2015 a licensed or certified appraiser may remain on inactive status 
for no more than five (5) years.  

 
To insure your application will not be returned, have you: 

 Verified and updated all information on the application and made corrections as 
necessary? 

 Attached a 2 x 2 photograph taken within the last 12 months to the application – taped 
securely? 

 Answered all questions completely and truthfully on the application? 

 Attached documentation if responding “yes” to any questions.  

 Attached certificates of completion (copies accepted) for 14 hours of Board approved 
continuing education and 3-hour W.Va. Law Course (if required)? 

 Signed and dated your application? 

 Enclosed a check or money order made payable to WVAB for your license or permit fee, 
including delinquent fee if applicable? 

 Addressed the envelope to the correct address - P.O. Box 40267, Charleston, WV 25364? 
 

All current (2015-16) licenses and permits expire September 30, 2016 
 
 
    
 


