WV.gov

 Education - Definition and Rules

Qualifying Education

Qualifying Education – The required education an individual must successfully complete in order to obtain an appraiser license or an apprentice permit.

Apprentice – An individual must successfully complete 150 hours of Board approved Qualifying Education courses before applying for an apprentice permit.

Licensed Residential Appraiser – An individual must successfully complete 150 hours of Board approved Qualifying Education courses before applying for a Licensed Residential Appraiser License. 

Certified Residential Appraiser – An individual must successfully complete 200 hours of Board approved Qualifying Education courses before applying for a Certified Residential Appraiser License. 
 
Certified General Appraiser - An individual must successfully complete 300 hours of Board approved Qualifying Education courses before applying for a Certified General Appraiser License.

Continuing Education  

Continuing Education – The required fourteen (14) hours of education an individual must take in order to renew their apprentice permit or appraiser license each year.

Note:  With the exception of the 7-hour National USPAP course, no credit shall be awarded for completion of a continuing education course on the same topic more than once every three (3) years.

Continuing Education must be taken from October 1st through September 30th of the licensing cycle.

On-Line Continuing Education and On-Line Qualifying Education

The Board will accept on-line Continuing Education as part of the necessary education requirement to renew the individual's apprentice permit or appraiser license. All courses or seminars must be approved by the West Virginia Appraiser Board. No other on-line courses will be accepted. 

The Board will accept on-line Qualifying Education.  All courses or seminars must be approved by the West Virginia Appraiser Board. No other on-line courses will be accepted. All approved qualifying education courses are listed on the website. The 15-Hour USPAP Update course is approved for qualifying education only. It cannot be used for continuing education.

WV Law Class

Effective January 1, 2015, licensees applying for renewal shall successfully complete a three (3) hours WV law course, with exam, every four (4) years.  This is in addition to the required 14 hours of continuing education for the renewal cycle.


Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2015 State of West Virginia