Appraisal Management Companies – Proposed Rule and Registration Information
Proposed Rule for Appraisal Management Companies Filed
Title 190, Series 5, “Requirements for Registration and Renewal of Appraisal Management Companies,” was filed with the WV Secretary of State and the Legislative Rule-Making Review Committee to begin the legislative rule-making process on June 6, 2014. A 30-day comment period has been established during which interested parties may send comments concerning this rule. The comment period will begin June 10, 2014 at 9 am and end July 9, 2014 at 4 pm. The rule will be posted at: http://www.sos.wv.gov/administrative-law/proposed/Pages/default.aspx. Mail your comments to the: WV Appraiser Board, 2110 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Suite 101, Charleston, WV 25311.
The rule was simultaneously filed as an emergency rule. If approved as an emergency rule by the Secretary of State, the emergency rule will be effective for a maximum of 15 months while the proposed legislative rule goes through the normal rule-making process. The Board began the normal rule-making process by filing the rule for public comment on June 6, 2014.
You may also view the proposed rule by clicking here. This rule was written within the context of W.VA. Code §§30-38 and, W. VA. Code 30-38-A. Therefore, it may be helpful to refer to these chapters.
Procedural rules regarding disciplinary and hearing procedures will be written later this year. Procedural rules are those which set rules of procedure, practice or evidence for dealings with or proceedings before an agency, and may include forms used by the agency. Procedural rules are not reviewed or approved by the Legislature.
Update Regarding Appraisal Management Company Registration
The Board has established dates regarding
Any appraisal management company that is currently operating in
West Virginia must be pre-registered by July
1, 2014. The pre-registration form is available by clicking here. Please complete and return to firstname.lastname@example.org or fax to
304-558-3983, Attn: Sandy Kerns.
All forms (background authorization forms, surety bond application
forms and complete registration forms) will be available no later than July 21, 2014.
Completed applications must be returned to the Board by August 15, 2014. At that time, Section
5-1, “Temporary Authority to Conduct Business” of the Emergency and Proposed Rule
would become applicable.
Complete packets containing
all forms will be mailed to those who’ve submitted pre-registration information
when they are available. Also, individual forms will be posted on our website
as soon as they become available.
Please note that the
Appraisal Management Companies Registration Act requires that “the applicant,
each owner who is an employee of or consultant for the applicant, and the
controlling person of the firm seeking registration shall submit to a state and
national criminal history record check.”
Applicants must wait until they
receive a WVSP-39 Authorization Card and fingerprint cards that show our ORI
number before submitting their background check. When you receive the WVSP-39
and fingerprint cards from the Board, visit the Identogo webpage for directions
on how to proceed with your background check. Their website is, www.identogo.com.
Click on West Virginia,
select “Forms and Links” and follow the procedures for manual card submission. Mail
completed forms, cards and processing fee to:
Attn: West Virginia Card Scan Dept.
3051 Hollis Drive, Suite 310
Springfield, IL 62704
We look forward to working with you. Please contact us if you have questions.